JRS Wings of Gold

Inner Resonance Solar Voices

JRS Spank Your Inner Child

JRS Despair to Peace

JRS Loss for Words

JRS Spank Your Inner Monkey

Available from:


Tuesday, June 16, 2009: Comp Album Submissions Sent

     Tonight I finished and sent off the remixes for the DOA 2009 compilation album and the 2009 Northwest Shred compilation album. I'm pleased with the remixes. Both songs sound better now than they did originally. The Toontrack drums and Scarbee bass made a noticable improvement.

     Also, I totally cranked the guitars!

     Now back to work on Spank Your Inner Monkey. Last night I (almost) completed the rewrite of song #8, "Foaming Pipe Snake". The song went from some uninspired techno lameness to a much cooler, almost-progressive-rock song. In fact, I'm not sure it really fits with the other songs on the album. I like it though, so it's staying. Maybe it'll become the last song on the album, with a nice, long '70's style fadeout at the end. Groovy.

Friday, June 12, 2009: Am I Being Told?

     This week my Xbox 360 died. This just two months before the planned release of Spank Your Inner Monkey. Now, I don't have many supersitions, but if ever there was a Sign, this (to me) is one of them. The meaning of the Sign is simple: Stop Playing Games and Finish Your Album.

     That's what I'm going to do!

Thursday, June 4, 2009: Submitted to two new compilation albums

     I just submitted songs for new compilation albums. They are: Northwest Shred Fest - 2009 and Dean Owners of America - Audible Portrait 2009. The deadlines on both of these snuck up on me, so I didn't have a time to write and record new songs. Both my submissions are therefore remixes: songs from Inner Resonance Solar Voices and JRS - Loss Words. Both songs are instrumentals.

     Remixing the songs is fun! On both songs I replaced the drums with a kit from Toontrack's Drumkit From Hell Superior. On the Loss for Words song, the bass will be replaced either with Chris Hein's EBass or Scarbee's new Blue Bass. Both bass libraries are puncy, slamming and hyper-detailed. The most realistic sampled bass sounds I've ever heard.

     Also, I continue to improve (learn new techniques) as a mixer, so I think these remixes sounds better than the original. Well, to my super-picky ears anyway. My hope is that being on these two new compilations will encourage folks to buy or download the albums from whence the songs are drawn.

     I hope my submissions are accepted! Should know soon.

Friday, May 08, 2009: Gonna Release Spank Your Inner Monkey First

     My new electronica album, entitled Spank Your Inner Monkey is almost done! Here's the deal: while working on New Old Stock (my vocal oriented rock album) I've also been working on my next electronica album. For many reasons, most having to do with procrastination, the electronica album is closer to completion than the vocal album.

     So, I've decided to release the electronica album first. Here's the song list. I'm not sure all will make it on the album; it's always a good plan to have more songs than needed though.

  1. La Belle Femme Skunk Fatale
  2. Enemy of My Enemy is My Meatloaf
  3. Heartbreak at the Electric Taco
  4. A Zoroastrian Named Wilma
  5. Float the Boat
  6. Hobson's Choice
  7. Requiem for an Interdimensional Space Commander
  8. Foaming Pipe Snake
  9. The Higher, the Fewer
  10. Yes, You Do Have to Tell Me Twice
  11. Creatures of the Overworld
  12. Dos Deuces, the Prawn-cracker Wins
  13. Pork Chop Sideburns
  14. I Think I'm So Freaking Clever
  15. Rishathra

     I also found an excellent monkey model from Daz3d. He'll appear on the cover, and around the website. Here's the first render (click on the image to go to the new Spank Your Inner Monkey page.


Tuesday, April 15, 2009: Moved the Blog

      I moved my blog today from its location on My Space over here. I don't visit My Space much anymore. Does anyone?

      I see that I've let a couple months lapse between blogs. Woops! Guess I wasn't feeling verbose.

      Still working on the Loss For Words album. I bought a new mic preamp that is making recording the vocals much easier.

      I'm also happy to report that I'm working on music with the members of Axis: Nico Valenzuela, Wayde Cooper and David Beardsley. More on that soon.


JRS Blog: 2009